+7 (495) 409-19-18

Day of Family, Love and Fidelity

Day of Family, Love and Fidelity - the day Peter and Fevronia.

Officially it is a young holiday which has gained the mass character in 2008. But at the same time it has an interesting historical origin. It is the Day of memory of Saints Pyotr and Fevroniya in Russian Orthodox Church.

The story of Peter and Fevronia.

In the "Story about Pyotr and Fevroniya Muromskikh" two national - poetic plots are united: the magic fairy tale about a fiery dragon and the tale about a wise maiden. The creator of the "Story" is Ermolai-Erazm, the contemporary of Ivan the Terrible, who has received an assignment from the Moscow metropolitan Makari to write about Pyotr and Fevroniya who were supposed to govern in Murom and died in 1228. The work has been written after Pyotr and Fevroniya's canonization on the Moscow church cathedral in 1547.

In the city of Murom the prince Pavel ruled. When he was out, a flying fiery dragon was coming to his wife for fornication. Other people treated it as prince Pavel. The princess admitted everything to her husband. He ordered his wife to inquire the dragon how death can come to it. The dragon has told the princess that his death will be "from Petrov of a shoulder, from Agrikov of a sword".

It happened as it was told. Pyotr - Pavel's brother - killed the Snake. Before death it accepted its appearance and sprinkled Pyotr with its blood from which Piotr has got sick with leprosy. The legend says that Pyotr saw in a dream that the daughter of a "trees-climber" (bortnik) who was extracting wild honey — called Fevroniya, a peasant from Laskovo town in the Ryazan earth, can cure him. As a payment for treatment Fevroniya wished that the prince married her after healing, the prince has pledged the word. But the girl was a commoner and the prince didn’t keep his promise. In her turn Fevroniya intentionally left one scab on a body of the prince because of what the illness renewed. So nevertheless he married the girl when she cured him again.

When Pyotr inherited reigning after his brother, boyars didn't want to have the princess the commoner and told him: "Release the wife who offends notable mistresses by heк origin, or leave Murom". The prince took Fevroniya, and they left Murom.

The fight for the throne began in the city. Then boyars have asked the prince and his wife to come back. The prince and the princess returned, and Fevroniya has managed to deserve further love of citizens.

In old age they accepted monastic vows in different monasteries and prayed God that they die in one day. They bequeathed to put both their bodies in one coffin and in advance they prepared a tomb from one stone with a thin partition. They have died in one day and hour.

The plot about Pyotr and Fevroniya was very popular in Russia and has gained further development both in literature, and in an iconography.

This day big celebrations take place in Russia. A special medal was found and it is handed to the strong families who serve as a bright embodiment of Love and Fidelity.

Back to list
Our partners
2016 all rights reserved
All rights are reserved and protected by law. The data, posted at this Internet resource are purely informative and is not a public offer (art. 437 of the Russian Civil Code). We ask you to clarify the data by email or contact phone number.

+7 (495) 409-19-18

День Семьи Любви и Верности

День Семьи Любви и Верности - день Петра и Февронии.

Официально молодой праздник, получивший массовый характер в 2008 году, но при этом имеющий интересное историческое происхождение. День памяти святых Петра и Февронии в Русской православной церкви.

История Петра и Февронии.

В «Повести о Петре и Февронии Муромских» объединены два народно - поэтических сюжета: волшебная сказка об огненном змее и сказка о мудрой деве. Создателем «Повести» является Ермолай-Еразм, современник Ивана Грозного, который получил поручение от Московского митрополита Макария написать о Петре и Февронии, которые, как предполагается, правили в Муроме и умерли в 1228 году. Произведение было написано после канонизации Петра и Февронии на Московском церковном соборе в 1547 году.

В городе Муроме правил князь Павел. Когда же его не бывало дома, к его жене являлся летающий огненный змей на блуд. Другим людям он казался князем Павлом. Княгиня во всем призналась своему мужу. Он велел жене выспросить у змея, от чего тому смерть может прийти. Змей рассказал княгине, что смерть его будет «от Петрова плеча, от Агрикова меча».

Так и произошло. Петр - брат Павла, убил Змея, умирая он принял своё обличье и обрызгал Петра кровью, от которой тот заболел проказой. Предание гласит, что Петру во сне было открыто, будто его может исцелить дочь «древолазца» (бортника), добывавшего дикий мёд, — Феврония, крестьянка села Ласково в Рязанской земле. Феврония в качестве платы за лечение пожелала, чтобы князь женился на ней после исцеления, князь дал слово. Но девушка была простолюдинкой и князь не сдержал обещания. Феврония в свою очередь намеренно не залечила один струп на теле князя, из-за чего болезнь возобновилась, он все же женился на девушке, когда она вновь его вылечила.

Когда Пётр наследовал княжение после брата, бояре не захотели иметь княгиню простолюдинку, сказав ему: «Или отпусти жену, которая своим происхождением оскорбляет знатных барынь, или оставь Муром». Князь взял Февронию, и они покинули Муром.

В городе началась борьба за престол. Тогда бояре попросили князя с женой вернуться. Князь и княгиня вернулись, и Феврония в дальнейшем сумела заслужить любовь горожан.

В преклонных летах приняв монашеский постриг в разных монастырях, они молили Бога, чтобы им умереть в один день, и завещали тела их положить в одном гробу, заранее приготовив гробницу из одного камня, с тонкой перегородкой. Скончались они в один день и час.

Сюжет о Петре и Февронии был очень популярен на Руси и получил дальнейшее развитие как в литературе, так и в иконописи.

В этот день в России проходят масштабные гулянья, так же учреждена особая медаль, которая вручается крепким семьям, служащим ярким олицетворением Любви и Верности.

 

 

Вернуться к списку
Наши партнеры
2016 все права защищены
Все права защищены и охраняются законом. Сведения, размещенные на настоящем интернет-ресурсе, носят исключительно информационный характер и не являются публичной офертой (ст. 437 Гражданского кодекса РФ). Убедительная просьба дополнительно уточнять указанные данные по электронной почте или контактным телефонам.